• Fisheries Management supported by Oceanography and remote Sensing techniques
  • Training in Fisheries , Biological oceanography
Links-Some Professional Schools for Fisheries
Links-Some EU organizations
North-East Atlantic Fisheries Commission(NEAFC)
Area: North-East Atlantic.
Main species: blue whiting, haddock, herring, mackerel, redfish, deep sea species.
Main EU presence:Belgium, Denmark,Estonia, France, Germany, Ireland, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, UK.
Northwest Atlantic Fisheries Organisation (NAFO)
Area: North West Atlantic Ocean, outside Canadian and Greenland waters.
Main stocks: halibut, redfish, shrimp.
Main EU presence: Spain (36 vessels) and Portugal (12), mainly fishing halibut.
Total EU vessels: approx 60.
North Atlantic Salmon Conservation Organisation (NASCO)
Area: North Atlantic.
Main stock: wild salmon.
Main EU presence: UK, Ireland, Sweden,Finland, Germany, France, Spain and Portugal.
A ban applies to fishing for salmon in international waters.
South-East Atlantic Fisheries Organisation (SEAFO)
Area: South-East Atlantic waters,from Angola to South Africa.
Main stocks: all marine resources,apart from highly migratory species.
Main EU presence: Spain and Portugal.
South Indian Ocean Fisheries Agreement (SIOFA)
Area: Southern Indian Ocean.
Main stocks: deep demersal species(orange roughy, alfonsinos, oreos, toothfish)
Main EU presence : Spain, Portugal (3 vessels in total).
South Pacific Regional Fisheries Management Organisation (SPRFMO)
Area: high seas of the South Pacific.
Main stocks: demersals (orange roughby, alfonsinos, oreos, bluenose), pelagics (jack mackerel,squid).
Main EU presence: Netherlands, Germany, Lithuania; eight vessels.
Convention on the Conservation of Antarctic Marine Living Resources(CCAMLR)
Area: Antarctic waters.
Main stocks: toothfish, icefish and krill.
EU fishing presence: 2 Spanish vessels(toothfish), one Polish vessel (krill).
General Fisheries Commission for the Mediterranean (GFCM)
Area: Mediterranean, Black Sea and connecting waters.
Main stocks: all fishery resources.
Convention on the Conservation and Management of Pollock Resources in the Central Bering Sea
Area: Central Bering sea (Donut Hole).
A moratorium on fishing the stock (pollock) has been in place since 1993.
Western Central Atlantic Fishery Commission (WECAFC)
Area: Western Central Atlantic Ocean.
EU fishing presence: Spain, France, UK.
Fishery Committee for the Eastern CentralAtlantic (CECAF), operational 1967
Area: Eastern Central Atlantic between Cape Spartel and the Congo river.
International Commission for the Conservation of Atlantic Tunas (ICCAT)
Area: Atlantic Ocean and adjacent seas, including the Mediterranean.
Main EU presence: France, Italy, Spain, UK, Portugal, Greece, Ireland, Netherlands, Malta, Cyprus. Some 2 000 vessels.
Indian Ocean Tuna Commission (IOTC)
Area: Indian Ocean and adjacent waters.
Main EU presence: Spain, France, Portugal and, to a lesser extent, Italy.
About 100 vessels.
Western and Central Pacific Fisheries Commission (WCPFC)
Area: Western and Central Pacific.
Main EU presence: Spain and France.
Around a dozen vessels.
Inter-American Tropical Tuna Commission(IATTC)
Area: Eastern Pacific Ocean, USA to Chile.
Main EU presence: Spain with 30 vessels.
Agreement on the International Dolphin Conservation Programme (AIDCP)
(sister organisation to IATTC)
Same Area of competence, same fishing interests.
Commission for the Conservation of Southern Bluefin Tuna (CCSBT)
Area: Southern hemisphere.
EC is a cooperating non contracting party
Main EU presence: Spain and Portugal(4 vessels, just catching small by-catchquantities).